Our team

“We couldn’t be more different, except for our shared values. And that makes working together enjoyable.”

Lia Siebert

Lia Siebert


At the d.school Lia’s craftiness, strategic mind, and build-to-think learning style come together in a place where she has coached senior executives in customer-focused innovation and worked with an inspiring roster of entrepreneurs and students from around the world. Complex organizational challenges mixed with 6th-grade brainstorming sessions on the “future of homework” and the occasional hour with a drill or paintbrush make Lia right at home at the d.school.

As a member of the 3rd class of d.school fellows and team member since 2006, Lia has participated widely in building the d.school (sometimes literally) from the ground up. She is a intuitive pattern-finder and practiced at reflecting cultural org insights into environments and experiences for students and executives. In addition to teaching in countless courses and programs, Lia partnered with Scott Doorley and the emerging Environments Collaborative in 2007 to design and build out the 2nd and 3rd iterations of the d.school space, and led org partnerships and Executive Education through 2010. She has recently returned from several months working with entrepreneurs, universities, and governments in Latin America to teach the fall quarter Design Thinking Bootcamp course, and finds her new home in the Mission to be among the scariest (and also loveliest) places she has ever been.

Before the d.school, Lia led Product Development teams following Mechanical Engineering and MBA degrees from Stanford. She has taken health & wellness products from concept to commercialization and loves the exploratory nature of early-stage product definition as much as the hands-dirty nature of making it happen.

Ask Lia about her scooter, what a world-class Israeli designer had to say about the source of her intuition, a memorable 10.6 mile race in Big Sur and what it’s like to find yourself alone in a Costa Rican rainforest on your birthday.

Who’s here in 2012-2013

Our Broader Network

These superstars have been a part of our teaching teams, fellows, staff or founding team. They continue to do amazing work at Stanford and in the world.

  • Abby King
  • Adam French
  • Alex Ko
  • Amal Aziz
  • Anne Fletcher
  • Barry Katz
  • Ben Grossman-Kahn
  • Bill Moggridge
  • Brett Westervelt
  • Brian Witlin
  • Brit D'Arbeloff
  • Carly Geehr
  • Carol Winograd
  • Charlie Ellinger
  • Claudia Kotchka
  • Colter Leyes
  • Corey Ford
  • Corina Yen
  • Dan Bomze
  • Daniel Steinbock
  • David Klaus
  • Elizabeth Gerber
  • Emily Ma
  • Enrique Allen
  • Erika Basu
  • Erin Liman
  • Evelyn Huang
  • Gayle Curtis
  • James Monsees
  • Jason Chua
  • Jason Conroy
  • Jim Ratcliffe
  • Joe Brown
  • Joel Sadler
  • Jofish Kaye
  • John Keefe
  • John Kembel
  • John Lilly
  • Kerry O’Connor
  • Kim Saxe
  • Kris Woyzbun
  • Krista Donaldson
  • Larry Leifer
  • Lia Ramirez
  • Lochlann Jain
  • Maryanna Rogers
  • Maureen Caroll
  • Meg Lee
  • Micah Lande
  • Michael Shanks
  • Mike Levinthal
  • Nat Woyzbun
  • Nitzan Waisberg
  • Olga Trusova
  • Peter Rubin
  • Peter Sims
  • Purin Phanichphant
  • Rich Crandall
  • Sandy Speicher
  • Scott Klemmer
  • Susan Hosking-Ramos
  • Uri Geva
  • Wendy Ju
  • Yusuke Miyashita