Our team

“We couldn’t be more different, except for our shared values. And that makes working together enjoyable.”

Hasso Plattner

Consulting Professor

Prof. Dr. h.c. Hasso Plattner is one of the co-founders of SAP AG and has been Chairman of the Supervisory Board since May 2003. In this role and as Chief Software Advisor, he concentrates on defining the medium- and long- term technology strategy and direction of SAP. He also heads the Technology Committee of the SAP Supervisory Board.

In 1972, Hasso and four colleagues left IBM in Mannheim, Germany, founded SAP (Systems, Applications, Products in Data Processing). Based in Walldorf, Germany, SAP AG is today the leading provider of enterprise software solutions integrating processes within and among enterprises and business communities.

When SAP went public in 1988, Hasso was appointed Vice Chairman of the Executive Board. From 1997 to May 2003, he was Chairman of the Executive Board and CEO of SAP. In May 2003, he was elected to the SAP Supervisory Board and took over the chairmanship from co-founder Dietmar Hopp.

Hasso received his Master’s Degree in Communications Engineering from the University of Karlsruhe. In 1990, the University of Saarbrücken awarded him an honorary doctorate and in 1994, he was granted an honorary full professorship.. In 1997, as chairman of SAP America, Inc., co-chairman of SAP and the chief architect of SAP R/3, Hasso received the Information Technology Leadership Award for Global Integration as part of the Computerworld Smithsonian Awards Program. In 1998, he was inducted into the German Hall of Fame. In 2002, Hasso was appointed Honorary Doctor, and in 2004 Honorary Professor by the University of Potsdam.

In 2005 Hasso made an extraordinarily generous personal donation of 35 million dollars to fund the Hasso Plattner Institute of Design at Stanford. He launched the d.school off the ground in earnest. In addition to his financial contribution, Hasso brings his expertise to the d.school as a Professor. He is on the teaching team for Software Design Experiences in the Spring Quarter of 2007, working with students and municipalities to design new and better civic experiences with enterprise software.

Who’s here in 2012-2013

Our Broader Network

These superstars have been a part of our teaching teams, fellows, staff or founding team. They continue to do amazing work at Stanford and in the world.

  • Abby King
  • Adam French
  • Alex Ko
  • Amal Aziz
  • Anne Fletcher
  • Barry Katz
  • Ben Grossman-Kahn
  • Bill Moggridge
  • Brett Westervelt
  • Brian Witlin
  • Brit D'Arbeloff
  • Carly Geehr
  • Carol Winograd
  • Charlie Ellinger
  • Claudia Kotchka
  • Colter Leyes
  • Corey Ford
  • Corina Yen
  • Dan Bomze
  • Daniel Steinbock
  • David Klaus
  • Elizabeth Gerber
  • Emily Ma
  • Enrique Allen
  • Erika Basu
  • Erin Liman
  • Evelyn Huang
  • Gayle Curtis
  • James Monsees
  • Jason Chua
  • Jason Conroy
  • Jim Ratcliffe
  • Joe Brown
  • Joel Sadler
  • Jofish Kaye
  • John Keefe
  • John Kembel
  • John Lilly
  • Kerry O’Connor
  • Kim Saxe
  • Kris Woyzbun
  • Krista Donaldson
  • Larry Leifer
  • Lia Ramirez
  • Lochlann Jain
  • Maryanna Rogers
  • Maureen Caroll
  • Meg Lee
  • Micah Lande
  • Michael Shanks
  • Mike Levinthal
  • Nat Woyzbun
  • Nitzan Waisberg
  • Olga Trusova
  • Peter Rubin
  • Peter Sims
  • Purin Phanichphant
  • Rich Crandall
  • Sandy Speicher
  • Scott Klemmer
  • Susan Hosking-Ramos
  • Uri Geva
  • Wendy Ju
  • Yusuke Miyashita